Recommended Reading: In Honour of International Women’s Day

As many know yesterday was International Women’s Day. It coincided nicely with preparation for a small group I am a part of which will be discussing the role of women in the church in the coming weeks. I debated back and forth on what form this post would take and decided, in the end, to recommend a few resources for further reading rather than trying to summarize arguments that others have made much better than I could. Arguments and revelations from amazing women in the church.

Books 
A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans. This is an excellent read. Don’t let the title fool you–it’s not as crazy as it sounds. And it’s written with a great deal of self-deprecating humour which is a mark of Rachel Held Evans. It explores in a wonderful way the historical and cultural context of ancient Biblical practices and teachings, and raises a lot of questions as to the applicability of some Scriptural interpretations to the modern day.

Jesus, Feminist by Sarah Bessey. We know a lot of things about Jesus, but it takes some guts to call him a feminist. And yet Sarah Bessey does just that, in a wonderful way, and you begin to realize it is not as crazy as it first sounds. This is also an excellent read.

Blogs 

https://rachelheldevans.com/blog/ Rachel Held Evans also has a blog! This is for reading in more manageable doses

http://sarahbessey.com/blog/ Sarah Bessey has a blog as well! Again, a more manageable reading dose. Sarah Bessey is also Canadian which gives a slightly more relatable context for the Canadian Christian.

http://jorymicah.com/blog/ Jory Micah is another writer in the vein of Rachel Held Evans and Sarah Bessey and is working on a book called Breaking the Glass Steeple which I intend to pick up as soon as it is released.

So give these all a read, and see what you can learn from women leaders in the church today.

Published by Devin Hogg

My name is Devin Hogg. I was born and raised in Carnarvon, Ontario, Canada. I moved to Guelph, Ontario, Canada in 2009 for university and lived here ever since. In my free time, I enjoy reading, watching TV and movies, going on long walks, swimming, and practicing Chen style Tai Chi. I love to write poetry and blog regularly about topics such as mental health, sci-fi/fantasy series, faith, sexuality, and politics.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: